(301)  HONOURS LIST 2003


The New Year’s Honours List for 2004 saw the award of a KCMG for David Edward, who had just retired as the UK judge in the Court of Justice of the European Communities.  Sir David, who had previously been awarded the CMG, is a member of the Scottish bar and was Salvesen Professor of European Institutions at Edinburgh Law School before taking up his judicial appointment in Luxembourg, initially in the Court of First Instance before going on to the ECJ.  Sir David is the fifth member (present or past) of the Edinburgh law faculty to be knighted in recent times, the earlier ones being the late Sir Thomas Smith, Sir Colin Campbell (now Vice-Chancellor of Nottingham University and chair of the English judicial appointments board), Sir Gerald Gordon, and Sir Neil MacCormick.  The last-named still holds his Edinburgh chair, while Sir David and Sir Gerald are both honorary professors in the law school.