Six Scottish Labour MPs were among the 72 Labour rebels who voted against a second reading for the Government’s Higher Education Bill (which will introduce so-called ‘top-up’ tuition fees for undergraduates at English & Welsh universities).  The six were Michael Connarty, Tam Dalyell (framer of the West Lothian question – see No 304), Ian Davidson, Iain Luke, Christine McCafferty and Gavin Strang.  The sole Conservative MP for a Scottish constituency, Peter Duncan, adhered to his decision as a Scots MP not to vote on a matter relating only to England & Wales.  The Bill passed to a second reading by a majority of five.

PS Tam Dalyell’s constituency is now known as Linlithgow rather than West Lothian.