The appointment of five new permanent Court of Session and High Court judges was announced on 2 February 2005, bringing the total number to a record 34 (see for earlier concerns about understaffing of the Bench Nos 373 and 382).  The new appointees, who are all QCs and were recommended by the (still non-statutory) Judicial Appointments Board, include Leeona Dorrian , who becomes the fourth woman to be elevated to the Court of Session bench; Iain Macphail, who is the current Sheriff Principal of Lothian and Borders; and Patrick Hodge, until recently a Scottish Law Commissioner.